LOVE is IN THE AIR!

This is the place to celebrate all things romance: discover enchanting novels, meet new romance writers, fall in love with podcasts and more! Subscribe below for more themed resource pages and updates. We promise we won’t ghost you.

SUBSCRIBE TO E-NEWSLETTER
Photo of Angela Terry and book cover of The Trials of Adeline Turner

Join us on February 17th for an online program with romance writer Angela Terry about her new book The Trials of Adeline Turner. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Emily Giffin will enjoy cheering for Adeline Turner as she navigates the twists and turns of her newly complicated life, falls into messy romantic situations, and tries to unravel an office-sabotage plot before it ruins her career.

LEARN MORE AND REGISTER

Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching and the American Writers Museum gift shop—both in-person and online here—is full of gift ideas for the literature lovers that you, well, love. From jewelry and pins inspired by American writing, book-themed ties and scarves, posters with romantic quotes and more, you’re sure to please your beloved this Valentine’s Day, or any day of the year for that matter. They deserve it.

SHOP HERE

“I loved reading romance: the stories were fun, they made me happy, but they were so much more than that — they tackled major issues about sexism, relationships, consent, race, politics, family, and so much more. I hoped it would be as fun to write one as it was to read them, and I was right!”

—Jasmine Guillory, bestselling author of The Wedding Party, While Were Dating, and more

READ

Hit the American Writers Museum blog for even more reading and explorations of romance writing.

  • Prior to her July 2019 visit to the AWM to discuss her book The Wedding Party, we did a Q & A with Jasmine Guillory about the book, the romance novel genre, and which American writer of the past she would most like to go on a date with.

AWM BLOG HOME

LISTEN

Check out the AWM Podcast Network to learn about influential romance writers of the past or hear current romance writers discuss their work.

AWM PODCAST NETWORK

WATCH

Over on our YouTube channel, revisit many of our past programs with romance writers.

AWM YOUTUBE CHANNEL

Young Adult Romance Novels

Check out these past conversations with leading young adult authors to learn more about their books, crafting love stories for young adults, and the importance of youth seeing their lives and selves represented in literature.

Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera

In Never Look Back, acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi’s Pride and Daniel José Older’s Shadowshaper.

LISTEN HERE | WATCH HERE

Check Please! Book One: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu

If graphic novels are more your thing, then tune into Ngozi Ukazu discussing her book Check Please! In this coming-of-age series, junior figure skating champion, vlogger extraordinaire and baking aficionado Eric Bittle adjusts to life as a freshman on the Samwell University ice hockey team and navigates a newfound crush on Jack, the team’s captain.

LISTEN HERE | WATCH HERE

Looking for more diverse reading suggestions for young adults? We suggest these Young Adult Reading Recommendations. Not all of them are “romance novels” per se, but many of them are!

 

And for those of you who LOVE your pets, watch Jennifer Finney Boylan discuss her book Good Boy: My Life in Seven Dogs with Kathy Griffin. “Everything I know about love,” she writes, “I learned from dogs.” Their love enables us to pull off what seem like impossible feats: to find our way home when we are lost, to live our lives with humor and courage, and above all, to best become our true selves.